Friday, April 6, 2012

Red Hot Chili Peppers - 'Out in L.A.'

Most people that have heard my radio programs know I have a weak spot for the old funk-metal of the Chili Peppers. I can take or leave most of their newer stuff, but from about '83 to '90 they put out some of my favorite records. The best of these is definitely 'The Uplift Mofo Party Plan,' released in 1987 with the four founding members finally playing together on record for the first time, but, I'm givin' you the less-common 'Out in L.A.' compilation.

This has got pretty much all the b-sides from the first 3 Chili Peppers records (there weren't that many) and some live cuts/remixes. It's okay, but it's an interesting document at least. One of the songs ('Blues for Meister') features Flea on vocals I think? There's also a really lame version of 'Deck the Halls.' Oh well. If you're into 'golden age' funk metal, you'll dig this.


1. Higher Ground (12" Vocal Mix)
2. Hollywood (Africa) (Extended Dance Mix)
3. If You Want Me to Stay (Pink Mustang Mix)
4. Behind the Sun (Ben Grosse Remix)
5. Castles Made of Sand (Live)
6. Special Secret Song Inside (Live)
7. F.U. (Live)
8. Get Up and Jump (Demo Version)
9. Out in L.A. (Demo Version)
10. Green Heaven (Demo Version)
11. Police Helicopter (Demo Version)
12. Nevermind (Demo Version)
13. Sex Rap (Demo Version)
14. Blues for Meister
15. You Always Sing the Same (Demo Version)
16. Stranded
17. Flea Fly
18. What it is
19. Deck the Halls


No comments: