Sunday, February 7, 2010

Full-lengths, installment 7

Man, what a strange place Ohio must be. Aside from the horrifying depiction of its backwoods in many a film, Ohio is also home of the weirdest musical collective around. Starting out in the late 70's/early 80's, Mike Rep and his backing band the Quotas have left a daunting pile of lo-fi cassettes, EP's, LP's and the like. That's not to mention the plethora of albums his cohorts have done by themselves. Jim Shepard (a member of Ego Summit along with Rep) released a few solo albums of disjointed folk music before offing himself. Another member of that group, Tommy Jay, released today's selection, "Tall Tales of Trauma" independently on cassette in 1986. The album is a collection of home recordings Tommy did dating back to 1974. The music ranges from strange to terrifying, and finds Jay on almost all the instruments (with some backups by Mike Rep himself.)


1. Last Hurrah
2. Tough Luck Roy
3. I Was There
4. Memories
5. Unknown
6. Dreamland
7. Fear of Shadows
8. Ocean
9. Moving to Harrisburg
10. Old Hemingway
11. Village Idiot
12. Lust, Honor and Love
13. Winter Nomad

Proceed with caution on this one. It bites.


1 comment:

Blogger said...

Searching for the Best Dating Website? Join to find your perfect match.